Preservation Publication Award

Purpose and Criteria for Selection:

Established in 1993, this award recognizes and acknowledges the author(s) or editor(s) of an outstanding published work related to archives preservation and, through this acknowledgment, encourages outstanding achievement by others. The work can be an article, report, chapter, or monograph in an audiovisual, electronic, or print format.

The work must contribute to the advancement of the theory and practice of preservation in archives institutions by introducing new preservation theories, methods, or techniques; by codifying principles and practices of archives preservation; by presenting the results of innovative research on matters related to archives preservation; by investigating preservation issues of current interest and importance to the archives community; or by studying aspects of the history of the archives profession.


Awarded to the author(s) or editor(s) of an outstanding preservation-related work that is of relevance to the archives community and published in North America during the calendar year preceding the date on which the award is given.

Submission Requirements:

A completed nomination form and the required number of copies of the work.

Sponsor and Funding:

The Society of American Archivists.


A certificate.

First Awarded:


Selection Committee:

The Preservation Publication Award Subcommittee of the SAA Awards Committee consists of four members of the Society of American Archivists (one of whom shall be the current chair of the Preservation Section, who shall serve a term concurrent with his or her office) and one of the co-chairs of the Awards Committee (ex officio). One of the remaining members shall be appointed each year by the SAA President-elect to serve a three-year term. The senior member of the subcommittee in years of service shall serve as chair.

Application Deadline and Nomination Form:

All nominations shall be submitted to SAA by February 28 of each year. CLICK HERE to download the application form.

Preservation Publication Award Recipients:

1994:   Mary Lynn Ritzenthaler, Preserving Archives and Manuscripts.
Special Commendation: Henry Wilhelm, The Permanence and Care of Color Photographs

1995:   Nancy E. Elkington, RLG Archives and Microfilming Manual

1996:   Anne R. Kenney, Stephen Chapman, Tutorial - Digital Resolution Requirements for Replacing Text Based Material:
            Methods for Benchmarking Image Quality

1997:   Preserving Digital Information: Report on the Task Force on Archiving of Digital Information

1998:   Not awarded

1999:   James M. Reilly, The Storage Guide for Color Photographic Materials

2000:   Eléonore Kissel and Erin Vigneau, Architectural Photoreproductions: A Manual for Identification and Care

2001:   Gregory S. Hunter, Preserving Digital Information: A How-To-Do-It Manual

2002:   Robert E. Schnare, Jr., Bibliography of Preservation Literature, 1983-1996

2003:   Not awarded

2004:   Anne R. Kenney, Nancy Y. McGovern, Digital Preservation Management: Implementing Short-term Strategies for
Long-term Problems
(Web-based tutorial)

2005:   National Film Preservation Foundation, The Film Preservation Guide: The Basics for Archives, Libraries, 
           and Museums

2006:   Data Dictionary for Preservation Metadata: Final Report of the PREMIS Working Group

2007:   Heritage Preservation, Field Guide to Emergency Response

2008:   Science and Technology Council of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, The Digital Dilemma

2009:   The AIC Guide to Digital Photography and Conservation Documentation

2010: Archival and Special Collections Facilities: Guidelines for Archivists, Librarians, Architects, and Engineers,
edited by Michele F. Pacifico and Thomas P. Wilsted

2011:   Digital Curation: A How-To-Do-It Manual by Ross Harvey

2012:  Geospatial Multistate Archive and Preservation Partnership (GeoMAPP) Best Practices for Archival Processing for Geospatial Datasets

2013:   Aligning National Approaches to Digital Preservation, edited by Nancy Y. McGovern (volume editor) and Katherine Skinner (series editor)

2014:   Archivists' Guide to Archiving Video, published by WITNESS

2015:  From Theory to Action: “Good Enough” Digital Preservation Solutions for Under-Resourced Cultural Heritage Institutions by the Digital POWRR Team

  Special Commendation: 2015 National Agenda for Digital Stewardship by the National Digital Stewardship Alliance

2016:   Preserving Our Heritage: Perspectives from Antiquity to the Digital Age by Michele V. Cloonan

2017:   Waters Rising: Letters from Florence by Shelia Waters (The Legacy Press, 2016)