Sister M. Claude Lane, O.P., Memorial Award

Purpose and Criteria for Selection:

Created in 1974, this award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to the field of religious archives.  Selection criteria include:

  • Involvement and work in the Archivists of Religious Collections Section of the Society of American Archivists.
  • Contributions to archival literature that relates to religious archives.
  • Participation and leadership in religious archives organizations.
  • Evidence of leadership in a specific religious archives.


Individual archivists only.

Nomination Requirements:

A completed nomination form.

Sponsor and Funding:

The Society of American Archivists Foundation, in conjunction with the Society of Southwest Archivists, in honor of Sister M. Claude Lane, O.P., the first professionally trained archivist at the Catholic Archives of Texas in Austin, who served there from 1960 until her death in 1974.


A certificate awarded by the SAA Foundation and a cash prize provided by the Society of Southwest Archivists.

First Awarded:


Selection Committee:

The Sister M. Claude Lane, O.P., Memorial Award Subcommittee of the SAA Awards Committee is composed of four members of the Society of American Archivists, at least one of whom is also a member of the Society of Southwest Archivists (SSA). In addition, one of the co-chairs of the SAA Awards Committee serves ex officio on the subcommittee. The SAA President-elect shall appoint one member of the subcommittee each year for a term of three years after having solicited nominations from the president of the SSA and from the Awards Committee co-chairs. The senior member of the subcommittee in years of service shall serve as its chair. The SSA representative shall present the award during the Awards Ceremony at the SAA Annual Meeting.

Submission Deadline and Nomination Form:

All nominations shall be submitted to SAA by February 28 of each year.  CLICK HERE to download the nomination form.


Sister M. Claude Lane, O.P., Memorial Award Recipients:

1974:   Melvin Gingerich

1975:   Eleanore Cammack

1976:   August Sueflow

1977:   V. Nelle Bellamy

1978:   Lynn May and William Miller

1979:   Sister Felicitas Powers, RSM

1980:   Sister Evangeline Thomas, CSJ

1981:   Not awarded

1982:   Barbara Smith

1983:   Not awarded

1984:   Rev. Norbert Brockman

1985:   Rev. Charles Rehkopf

1986:   James M. O'Toole

1987:   Robert Shuster

1988:   Brother Denis Sennett, Franciscan Friars of Atonement

1989:   Not awarded

1990:   Thomas Wilsted

1991:   Elizabeth Yakel

1992:   Sister Mary Linus Bax, CPPS

1993:   Peter Wosh

1994:   Sister Emma Cecilia Busam, OSU

1995:   Brother Roy Godwin, CFA

1996:   Sister Blaithin Sullivan, CSJ

1997:   Not awarded

1998:   Charles Nolan

1999:   Not awarded

2000:   Not awarded

2001:   Kinga Perzynska

2002:   Not awarded

2003:   Theresa (Terry) Thompson

2004:   John (Jac) Treanor

2005:   William Sumners

2006:   Not awarded

2007:   Roger M. Dahl

2008:   Mark Thiel

2009:   Robert Johnson-Lally

2010:   Sister Jane Aucoin, CSJ

2011:   Malachy R. McCarthy

2012:   Mark J. Duffy

2013:   Audrey Newcomer, Director, Archives and Records, Archdiocese of St. Louis

2014:   Judi Fergus, Arthur Moore Methodist Museum, Library and Archives

2015:   Diane Wells, Episcopal Diocese of Olympia in Seattle 

2016:   Denise “Dee” Gallo, Daughters of Charity in Emmitsburg, Maryland

2017:   Wesley W. Wilson (Roy O. West Library, DePauw University)